Skip to Content | Text-only

2006 Spring Award Ceremony Recognizes Accomplishments


The Gerontology Institute's spring award ceremony and annual picnic was held May 11 at Indian Creek Recreation Area. The event honored spring semester graduates of the gerontology certificate programs and the recipients of the Institute's annual outstanding student, faculty, alumni, and service awards.

Dr. Elisabeth Burgess, Gerontology Institute Director of Graduate Studies, awarded a Graduate Certificate in Gerontology to Nancy Bashaw and Undergraduate Certificates in Gerontology to Jenna Jewett-Lacey and Ana Feijoo Machado. Nancy holds a previously earned M.B.A. in Finance while Jenna graduated this spring with a B.A. in Sociology and Ana with a B.A. in Psychology and Sociology.

The annual award presentations recognized students, faculty, and professionals for their outstanding performance and contributions to the field of gerontology. The Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award was given to Patricia Szarowicz who graduated in December with a B.S. in Psychology. Neela Lakatoo, slated to receive an M.A. in Gerontology in August, was recognized as the Outstanding Graduate Student. The Distinguished Faculty Award was presented to Dr. Jaye Atkinson, Associate Professor of Communication, for her many contributions to the gerontology programs in the areas of teaching, research, and service. For her outstanding career and leadership in the aging service community Nancy Morrison, Director of Piedmont Hospital's Sixty Plus Program, was recognized as this year's Distinguished Alumni. The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Steve Krumm, Director of the Atlanta Legal Aid's Senior Citizen's Law Project for his sustained and successful efforts to bring legal services to seniors in greatest need.

Neela Lakatoo, Outstanding Graduate Gerontology Student;
DaVette Taylor-Harris, recipient of Anne M. Eaton Scholarship; and
Zhiqing Li, recipient of Catherine B. Healey Scholarship

The ceremony concluded with the recognition of students awarded scholarships during the academic year as follows:
Anne M. Eaton Scholarship - DaVette Taylor-Harris
Catherine B. Healey Scholarship - Zhiging Li
Fulton County Gerontology Scholarships - Margaret Fletcher and Neela Lakatoo
Gerontology Alumni Scholarships - Huali Qin and Ying Tang
Allen and Eleanor Hollingsworth Scholarship - Margaret Fletcher
Charles and Catherine B. Rice Scholarship - Zhiging Li
Harold V. and Anna Marie Little Scholarship - Jingren Zhou