Academic Teams

Mock Trial Team

The mock trial team is hard at work  preparing for the  National Tournament on March 27 and 28 when the team travels to Greenville, South Carolina for the opening round of the Nationals competition. During spring break they competed in Alabama to qualify for this spot in Greenville. If they place well at Nationals, they can qualify for the Finals in DesMoines, Iowa April 17 and 18. Students can receive class credit for being a member of the Mock Trial Team. Auditions for team positions are held where former members help decide who will join. The selection process is based on political science, philosophy, law and performing skills. It is not a requirement to be interested in law or be a part of the Georgia State law program.

GSU Model Arab League Team once more wins awards and Honors at National Conference! 

The GSU Model Arab League Team participated in the National Model Arab League conference in Washington March 27th-30th and further improved on its performance from last year.

This was our 3rd year of participation at the Nations conference, which is by invitation. We represented Egypt.

Our representative on the Arab Court of Justice - Ben (James) Etheridge won the Outstanding Justice Award

Six of our delegates - Adam Garvey, Kyle (Richard) Proctor, Brett Duvall, Nicholas Taylor, Will Pesante and Amber Sansbury won Outstanding Delegate Honorable Mention Awards

We were also recognized by the selection of two of our members (Alma Ljuca and Charles Keller) to be chairs of two of the six councils for next years conference. These are very competitive and sought after positions at the conference.

Congratulations are in order to the team which also performed very well at the regional conference earlier this month (our sixth year of participation). There we won 6 Outstanding Delegate Awards, 1 Honorary Mention Outstanding Delegate Award and Outstanding Justice on the Arab Court of Justice. The Team won the Outstanding Delegation Honorary Mention Award.

GSU Model UN Team

(April 2009) The GSU Model United Nations Team just finished attending the National Model UN conference in New York. This year we had a team of 29 students and represented China.

Once again GSU's Team won the top award (Outstanding Delegation Award). This award is given to teams judged as being in the top 5% of teams participating.

For the first time we  also won the Outstanding Position Paper Award (for our written position papers on China's policies written for each of the 14 different committees which were simulated at the conference). This award is given to the top 5% position papers at the conference.

Approximately 2,500 students from 181 other schools and programs participated in the conference. As usual about half the teams were from overseas. This is the largest Model UN simulation in the world.

(April 2008) Model United Nations Team Wins Outstanding Delagation Award!

The Model UN team has been winning the Honarary Mention Award for the past 4 years it has participated at the National Model UN. This year at the National Model United Nations Conference we won the top award - Outstanding Delegation- for representing Nigeria.

This is a very large event. This year a total of 270 universities participated in the National Model UN conferences. About 50% of these teams were from outside the United States -Europe, Asia, North and South America and Africa. There were a total of 3600 students participating as delegates. The outstanding Delegation Award is given to the top 2% of participating teams.

In addition, 6 of our delegates won individual Outstanding Delegates Awards. These were Charles Keller, Adam Garvey, Bhavi Patel, Keta Patel, Carrie Starnes and Christine Simpson.

The team this year consisted of Fatuma Dahir (Head Delegate), David Tomaschik, Akeem Cooper, Charles Keller, Adam Garvey, Anna Alford, Revas Matchavariani, Hayat Jomaa, Ericka Fletcher, Alma Ljuca, Rachel Lewis, Sabria Saleh, Bhavi Patel, Keta Patel, Gregory Sonstein, Mandi Tsui, Joel Warne, Misbahuddin Syed, Elizabeth O'Callaghan, Maxmillian Lockie, Katie Blaner, Clayton Adams, Carrie Starnes, Christine Simpson, Jullian Ulbrich and Brittany Marks.