Pi Sigma Alpha Induction and Graduating Student Reception

  Pi Sigma Inductees

Graduate Students                                                                                                 

For the first time, the Political Science Department hosted a reception to honor graduating students in a more personalized setting on Friday, May 8, 2009 in Veteran’s Memorial Hall.  This ceremony also included the induction of new Pi Sigma Alpha members for 2008-2009.  Pi Sigma Alpha is the National honor Society recognizing high achieving Political Science majors. 

About one hundred students, family, and faculty members joined in to celebrate the achievements of the Department’s outstanding majors.  Dr. William Downs provided some opening remarks to get the event started. Several members of the Political Science Faculty also recognized the honorees’ including Dr. Michael Herb, Pi Sigma Alpha faculty advisor, who gave special recognition to the current Pi Sigma officers: Atonio Grant, Emily Waxman, Stephanie Garner, and Cynthia Michota. He also inducted thirty new members.  Dr. Carrie Manning, graduate director, spoke a few words about each of the graduate students obtaining MA’s or PhD’s who were in attendance. 

Dr. Peter Lindsay recognized the graduating seniors by saying a few interesting facts that they provided through an on online survey.  After all students were recognized, photos were taken of the different groups, and students, family, and faculty mingled while enjoying the refreshments. Hopefully this is the start of a tradition for many years to come.