Annual student awards announced

2/25/2014 – Erin Tone and Lindsey Cohen

Many excellent students were nominated for consideration for each of the psychology department's annual student honors. Through generous gifts to the Department of Psychology, outstanding undergraduate and graduate students were recognized with the following awards:



Elizabeth A. Kenny Scholarship in Psychology: Marjorie Freggens

Elizabeth Kenny (B.S., Psychology, 1999) and her husband Michael established this scholarship to reward a rising junior or senior psychology major who demonstrates outstanding academic performance as well as focused intent to pursue further studies and a career in psychology. 

Outstanding Psychology Honors Student award:  Taralee Hamner 

Any honors student who graduates during this academic year (summer, fall, or spring) is eligible. The award recognizes the graduating honors student who has shown exceptional accomplishment and promise.

Theresa Nash Bernstein Scholarship in International Travel Award: Mallorie Charmae Jones

The recipient may be either an undergraduate or graduate student, majoring in psychology or a related discipline, who is traveling to do research or study in a country the student has not yet visited. Preference will be given to a student for whom the trip is a first journey abroad. The Chair of Department of Psychology or her/his designee shall determine the criteria, amount, and number of awards.



Richard Morrell Outstanding Graduate Student in Psychology Award:Audrey Parrish

This award is made annually to an outstanding graduate student in the Department of Psychology (or a student who has earned the PhD within the year) who has excelled in the areas of professional development/research, teaching, and service.

John Warkentin Memorial Award:Karie Gaska

This award is made annually to a graduate student (or students) showing outstanding potential in psychotherapy.

Percival Rogers Statistics Award: Devin Gilmore

This award is made annually to a graduate student who has shown outstanding development and ability in the use of statistics in psychology.

Walter F. Daves Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award:Tracy Hipp

This award is made annually to a graduate student who has been an outstanding instructor in the Department of Psychology.

Bailey M. Wade Fellowship:Nikita Rodrigues

This fellowship is usually awarded to a first-year graduate student who has excelled in the tasks expected of first-year graduate students, including coursework, individual research and scholarship, and departmental service.

Doctoral Fellowship in Trauma Intervention: Lillie Macias & Natasha Mehta

The fellowship is awarded to students whose program of study prepares them to provide assistance to people who have experienced traumatic events (e.g., physical and/or sexual abuse, rape, domestic violence, terrorism, or war).

Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award: Sarah Martin

This award will be made annually to a graduate student who has been an outstanding researcher in the Department of Psychology.


Individuals interested in contributing to these award funds or in establishing new awards should contact Lisa Armistead or click the GIVING links on the Psychology or College of Arts and Sciences website.