Atlanta skyline
July 15-July 19, 2014
line decor
line decor

Scott Award Information

.The recipient of the 2014 John Paul Scott Award will be Dr. L. Rowell Huesmann.  This award recognizes a lifetime or substantial contribution to aggression research and will awarded at the World Meeting.  Dr. Huesmann will deliver the Scott Award Address at the World Meeting.

Biosketch: Dr. Huesmann is Amos N. Tversky Collegiate Professor of Psychology and Communication Studies at the University of Michigan and Director of the Aggression Research Program in the Research Center for Group Dynamics at Michigan’s Institute for Social Research. HuesHuesmann photomann’s research focuses on understanding the psychological foundations of aggressive behavior and in particular on understanding how the observations of others behaving violently influences the development of a youth’s aggressive and violent behavior and produces a contagion of violence. Over the past 45 years, Huesmann has authored over 100 widely cited scientific articles and books including Growing Up To Be Violent (1977), Television and the Aggressive Child (1986), and Aggressive Behavior (1994). He has been Editor of the international journal Aggressive Behavior and was the 2005 recipient of the American Psychological Association's award for Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Media Psychology. He has testified frequently before congress and directed several national committees examining the causes of violence. He is a member of the USA National Academy of Science’s Institute of Medicine’s Forum on Global Violence Prevention. He is a past President of the International Society for Research on Aggression and a life member of Clare Hall College, Cambridge. While on the faculty at Michigan he has been Director of the Research Center for Group Dynamics (2006-2012) and Chair of the Communication Studies Department (1994). He received his BS at the University of Michigan in 1964 and his PhD at Carnegie-Mellon University in 1969. Prior to being on the faculty at Michigan, he was an Assistant and Associate Professor of Psychology at Yale University and Professor of Psychology and chair of the psychology department at the University of Illinois at Chicago.