Section 16. Committee on Cultural Diversity
  1. The Committee on Cultural Diversity shall be composed of the Vice President for Student Services; the Senior Faculty Associate for the Advancement of Women; the Senior Faculty Associate for Underrepresented Faculty; the Director of African American Student Services; the Director of the Office of Affirmative Action; a representative from the Office of International Student Services; two students who are members of the Senate; two staff senators; at least twelve faculty members, one from each of the colleges, the University Library, and the Counseling Center, with the remainder elected at large; and the Ombudsperson as a non-voting member.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommnedations to the University Senate on any matters concerning cultural diversity. The duties of this committee shall include:
    1. advocating equal treatment for the groups identified under the University Discriminatory Harassment Policy, which include race, gender, sexual orientation, age, disability, national origin, and religion, and recommending ways in which the campus climate might be made more supportive of diversity;
    2. reviewing the annual report by the Affirmative Action Office on faculty, student, and staff diversity, and providing an annual Cultural Diversity Report on campus progress and areas of concern to the Senate at the Spring meeting as well as to the Senate Executive Committee for referral to the appropriate standing committee(s);
    3. supporting the continued diveristy of incoming students and their retention by assisting the appropriate bodies;
    4. assuring diversity in the recruitment and retention of staff at all levels;
    5. disseminating information to the colleges as needed to implement their guidelines for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty;
    6. advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Underrepresented Faculty on stratigies for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty, and advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Women as needed;
    7. reviewing and recommending changes in the University Harassment Policy and its implementation; and
    8. participating in the development, review, and recommendation of changes in University policies supporting equal treatment for the groups identified above.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the establishment of a new committee.

    Bylaws Table of Contents

    Faculty Handbook Guide