Section 4. Library Committee
  1. The Library Committee shall be composed of the Dean of Libraries, the Associate Provost for Academic Programs; two students who are members of the Senate; one staff senator; and at least seven (7) faculty members, as follows; one (1) representative from each college, one (1) from the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, with any additional members elected at large.
  2. The committee shall be advisory to the Dean of Libraries, shall make recommendations to the University Senate, and shall serve as liaison between the members of the faculty and the library.
  3. The duties of the committee shall be:
    1. To review annually the status of the Library as it affects the programs and curricula of the University, and as it relates to the standards of the various accrediting agencies; and to make such recommendations for improvement as may seem necessary;
    2. To advise the Dean of Libraries on policy and operational matters which may be brought to the committee by the Dean of Libraries or referred to the committee by the University Senate;
    3. To review with the Dean of Libraries matters of long-range library planning, and to make recommendations where appropriate;
    4. To receive from the faculty or from any college or unit recommendations or suggestions which may aid in the development, promote efficient service, or encourage increased use of the Library.
  4. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.

    Bylaws Table of Contents

    Faculty Handbook Guide