Section 6. Committee on Academic Programs
  1. The Committee on Academic Programs shall be composed of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; the academic deans of the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education, Health and Human Sciences, Law, and the School of Policy Studies; Director of the Counseling Center; one student who is a member of the Senate; one staff senator; and at least twenty-seven (27) faculty members, as follows: four (4) members each from the College of Arts and Sciences, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the College of Education; two (2) members from the College of Health and Human Sciences; one (1) each from the College of Law and the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies; with the remainder elected at large.
  2. The duties of the committee shall include the following:
    1. developing long-range plans for the academic affairs of the University;
    2. reviewing and recommending of university policies concerning curricula, new and existing programs, the deactivation and termination of academic programs, and the core curriculum;
    3. assessing academic programs and general education;
    4. approving courses having a university-wide designation;
    5. advising the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs on graduate and undergraduate matters, including the promotion, development, and coordination of graduate and undergraduate education.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.

    Bylaws Table of Contents

    Faculty Handbook Guide